Driving in Canada, Australia and New Zealand on a foreign licence (2026)
According to the official pages of 14 of the 22 Canadian provinces and territories, Australian states and territories and New Zealand, checked on 31 October 2026, how long you can drive on a foreign licence depends on where you are and on whether you are visiting or moving there; the tables below give each rule with its source, and the other 8 official pages did not open for our check, so we do not state their rules.
These rules differ from place to place, and they change. We quote the official pages word for word, with the date we checked them; this is information, not legal advice. Car rental companies and insurers can ask for more than the law, for example an international driving permit or a translation: ask them before you book.
“Visitors”, “New residents” and “IDP and translation” are our short summaries; each page quotes the official sentences with the link and the date. “UK licence exchange” and “US licence exchange” say whether the official page lists that licence for exchange without a knowledge or road test when you move there (some pages waive only the knowledge test, or cover only most US states: see each page); “Not stated” means the page we read does not say.
Canada
| Where | Visitors | New residents | IDP and translation | UK licence exchange | US licence exchange | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | No time limit stated; an IDP is needed if you visit for more than 3 months | 60 days, then an Ontario licence | IDP needed for visits of more than 3 months; certified translation to exchange a licence not in English or French | Yes | Yes | Ontario Ministry of Transportation, 31 October 2026 |
| British Columbia | Up to six months as a tourist | 90 days, then a B.C. licence | Translation by an ICBC-approved translator when ICBC asks for one (licence exchange) | Yes | Yes | ICBC (Insurance Corporation of British Columbia), 31 October 2026 |
| Québec | Up to six consecutive months (with conditions) | Six months after settling in Québec | An IDP holder may drive while the IDP is valid (section 88); the SAAQ page on translations did not open | Not stated | Not stated | Government of Québec (LegisQuébec), 31 October 2026 |
| Alberta | Up to one year | 90 days, then an Alberta licence | IDP strongly recommended if your licence is not in English; carry it with your licence | Yes | Yes | Government of Alberta, 31 October 2026 |
| Manitoba | Not stated on the page we read (it covers people moving to Manitoba) | Up to three months, then a Manitoba licence | Translation needed to exchange a licence not in English or French | Not stated | Not stated | Manitoba Public Insurance (MPI), 31 October 2026 |
| Saskatchewan | Allowed, with the same privileges as at home (no time limit stated) | 90 days after moving | A licence not in English or French needs a translation document acceptable to SGI, such as an IDP (licence exchange) | Yes | Yes | SGI (Saskatchewan Government Insurance), 31 October 2026 |
| Nova Scotia | 90 or 180 days: two government pages disagree, so plan on 90 | 180 days to exchange on one government page, 90 days on another, so plan on 90 | Certified translation to exchange a licence not in English or French; an IDP does not count as that translation | Yes | Yes | Government of Nova Scotia, 31 October 2026 |
| New Brunswick | Not stated for tourists; work or study permit holders may drive on their home licence for up to 6 months | A New Brunswick licence as soon as you take up residence | Official translation (agency or international driver’s licence) for a licence not in English or French (exchange) | Yes | Yes | Government of New Brunswick, 31 October 2026 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated on the pages we read | Exchange within three months of becoming a resident | English translation required for a licence not in English or French | Yes | Yes | Government of Newfoundland and Labrador (Motor Registration Division), 31 October 2026 |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated for tourists; foreign nationals living there need their licence and an IDP | No time limit stated on the page we read | IDP needed together with the foreign licence (IDPs are valid for 12 months) | Not stated | Not stated | Government of the Northwest Territories (Department of Infrastructure), 31 October 2026 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not read. The official page (Government of Prince Edward Island) did not open for our check on 31 October 2026 (it answered with HTTP 403), so we do not state its rule here. | |||||
| Yukon | Not read. The official page (Government of Yukon) did not open for our check on 31 October 2026 (it answered with HTTP 403, an anti-robot check), so we do not state its rule here. | |||||
| Nunavut | Not read. The official page (Government of Nunavut) did not open for our check on 31 October 2026 (it answered with HTTP 403, an anti-robot check), so we do not state its rule here. | |||||
Driving in Canada, do you need an international driving permit? UK licence · Australian licence
Australia
| Where | Visitors | New residents | IDP and translation | UK licence exchange | US licence exchange | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New South Wales | Up to six months as a tourist or temporary overseas visitor | Permanent residents: up to three months from arrival in Australia | Licence not in English: carry an English translation or an IDP | Yes | Yes | NSW Government, 31 October 2026 |
| Queensland | Allowed on a valid overseas licence (no time limit stated) | Resident visa holders: a Queensland licence after 3 months living in Queensland | Licence not in English: carry a recognised English translation (NAATI) | Yes | Not stated | Queensland Government, 31 October 2026 |
| Western Australia | Allowed on a current licence (no time limit stated) | Citizens and permanent residents: up to 3 months | Not stated for visitors on the pages we read; a licence submitted for transfer must be in English or translated | Not stated | Not stated | Western Australia Department of Transport and Major Infrastructure, 31 October 2026 |
| Victoria | Not read. The official page (VicRoads) did not open for our check on 31 October 2026 (it answered with HTTP 403, an anti-robot check), so we do not state its rule here. | |||||
| South Australia | Not read. The official page (SA.GOV.AU) did not open for our check on 31 October 2026 (it answered with HTTP 403, an anti-robot check), so we do not state its rule here. | |||||
| Tasmania | Not read. The official page (Transport Tasmania) did not open for our check on 31 October 2026 (it answered with HTTP 403, an anti-robot check), so we do not state its rule here. | |||||
| Australian Capital Territory | Not read. The official page (Access Canberra) did not open for our check on 31 October 2026 (it answered with HTTP 403, an anti-robot check), so we do not state its rule here. | |||||
| Northern Territory | Not read. The official page (NT.GOV.AU) did not open for our check on 31 October 2026 (it answered with HTTP 403, an anti-robot check), so we do not state its rule here. | |||||
Driving in Australia, do you need an international driving permit? UK licence · Canadian licence
New Zealand
| Where | Visitors | New residents | IDP and translation | UK licence exchange | US licence exchange | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Zealand | 12 months if you last arrived on or after 1 November 2026 (car licence: 18 months if you arrived before) | Same limit; then a New Zealand licence | Licence not in English: carry an accurate English translation from an approved source, or an IDP | Not stated | Not stated | NZ Transport Agency Waka Kotahi, 31 October 2026 |
Driving in New Zealand, do you need an international driving permit? UK licence · Canadian licence · Australian licence
Hire a car in Canada, Australia or New Zealand
Hiring a car in Canada, Australia or New Zealand? Compare rental companies and prices on DiscoverCars. Check the licence rules above before you book: the rental company can ask for more than the law, such as an IDP or a translation.
Some links are affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Questions
Can I drive in Canada with a UK licence?
As a visitor, usually yes, but each province and territory sets the time limit. On the official pages we read: Ontario: no time limit stated; an IDP is needed if you visit for more than 3 months; British Columbia: up to six months as a tourist; Québec: up to six consecutive months (with conditions); Alberta: up to one year; Manitoba: not stated on the page we read (it covers people moving to Manitoba); Saskatchewan: allowed, with the same privileges as at home (no time limit stated); Nova Scotia: 90 or 180 days: two government pages disagree, so plan on 90; New Brunswick: not stated for tourists; work or study permit holders may drive on their home licence for up to 6 months; Newfoundland and Labrador: not stated on the pages we read; Northwest Territories: not stated for tourists; foreign nationals living there need their licence and an IDP.
Can I drive in Canada with a US licence?
As a visitor, usually yes, and the same provincial limits apply as for other foreign licences. If you move, these provinces list US licences for exchange, in most cases without tests (see each page for the conditions): Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador.
How long can I drive in Australia with a UK licence?
It depends on the state and on your visa. On the official pages we read: New South Wales: up to six months as a tourist or temporary overseas visitor; Queensland: allowed on a valid overseas licence (no time limit stated); Western Australia: allowed on a current licence (no time limit stated). For permanent residents: New South Wales: permanent residents: up to three months from arrival in Australia; Queensland: resident visa holders: a Queensland licence after 3 months living in Queensland; Western Australia: citizens and permanent residents: up to 3 months.
Can I drive in New Zealand with a foreign licence?
Yes, for a limited time: 12 months if you last arrived on or after 1 November 2026 (car licence: 18 months if you arrived before). If your licence is not in English, you also need an accepted translation or an IDP.
How we check
We read the pages of the provincial, state and territorial licensing authorities and governments (for example the Ontario Ministry of Transportation, ICBC, the Government of Alberta, the NSW Government, the Queensland Government and NZ Transport Agency Waka Kotahi), and for Québec the Highway Safety Code on LegisQuébec, because the SAAQ website did not open for our check. We quote them word for word and give the date. Some official websites answer automated checks with an anti-robot page or an error: we do not try to pass those checks and we do not copy their rules from other websites, so those rows say “Not read”. We check every source again each month. More on the About page. Spotted a change? Tell us.
Driving abroad: do you need an international driving permit?